30th Anniversary Gala 2013

Storefront for Art and Architecture


30th Anniversary Gala

Celebrating Thirty Something Years of Storefront
Honoring Yona Friedman, Steven Holl, and Mary Miss


Friday, March 1, 2013

Temple Court

5 Beekman Street New York NY 10038

Hosted by 5 Beekman Street Hotel and Residences


6:30-9:00 PM Cocktails, Hors D’Oeuvres, and a Thirty Something Silent Auction 



View photos of the event here.





YOU ARE HERE (& there, too, etc), 2013

by Vito Acconci

Engineering, sound design and spatialization by Dave Rife

9th floor – All rooms

A sound installation by artist Vito Acconci that traced Storefront’s 30-year history. Learn more. 



by Bite

9th floor – All rooms

1982-2020: Chronotaste presented an archaeological culinary excursion in time, offering 30 dishes throughout the course of the night. Learn more and view the menu.



by Brett Beyer, Cameron Blaylock and Dolan Morgan, Naho Kubota, Janelle Lynch, and Benoit Pailley

9th floor – North Gallery

Visions is a project that presented five architecture photographer’s “visions” and personal interpretations of the 5 Beekman building. Learn more about the works and artists. 



by Shelly Sabel / WorldStage


A series of lighting compositions which brought to life the different architectural elements of Beekman Palace’s spine. Guests traveled through this installation on a visual voyage of 5 Beekman’s 9-story atrium, revealing and constructing a multiplicity of spatial narratives in the core of the building.



by Common Space 

Sound Engineer Matthew Patterson Curry

9th floor

A sound installation that involved a continuous re-coding of the song “Telegraph” by Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark released in 1981.


Storefront’s Thirty Something Silent Auction featuring works by:

Vito Acconci, Another Pamphlet, Julieta Aranda, Daniel Arsham, Erieta Attali, Richard Barnes, Adam Bartos, Brett Beyer, Cameron Blaylock and Dolan Morgan, Matthew Buckingham, Eyal Burstein, Mary Ellen Carroll, James Casebere,Tara Donovan, Rackstraw Downes, Todd Eberle, Tony Feher, Yona Friedman, Liam Gillick, Terence Gower, Dan Graham, Alexandra Grant, Ellen Harvey, Steven Holl, Alfredo Jaar,     Natalie Jeremijenko, Louis I. Kahn, Arcady Kotler, Naho Kubota, Louise Lawler, Leong Leong, David Levinthal, Donald Lipski, Jing Liu and Florian Idenburg / SO – IL, Janelle Lynch, Christina McPhee, Mary Miss, Robert Montgomery, Shirin Neshat, Sarah Oppenheimer, Benoit Pailley, Manfred Pernice, Martin Puryear, Pedro Reyes, Tom Sachs, Fanny Sanín, Ned Smyth, Snarkitecture, Keith Sonnier, Studio Drift, Mikhael Subotzky, Stephen Talasnik, Troika, Lan Tuazon, Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown, Rob Voerman, Karin Waisman, James Welling . 



Sound Design by Arup

Music by Jon Santos

Lighting Design by WorldStage

Food by Bite

Drinks by Beam Global, Grolsch, GROONER and Bite


Special thanks to WorldStage, Arup and Planar for donating A/V equipment for this event. 




Learn more about Storefront’s past Benefits here. 



Benefit Commitee

Gala Committee:

list in formation

Storefront Circle


Lauren Kogod and
David Smiley

Robert M. Rubin and St éphane Samuel


Storefront Council

Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (KPF)


Sciame Construction

Artur Walther



Architectural Digest


Carlos Brillembourg and Karin Waisman

Control Group

Conversano Associates



Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown

Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss

Toshiko Mori

Paratus Group

SHoP Architects

Tishman Speyer

Steven Zelin



Architecture Research Office


Miller Blaker

Nils and Maddy Burke-Vigeland

Karen Fairbanks and Scott Marble

Belmont Freeman

FXFOWLE Architects, LLP

Gabellini Sheppard Associates, LLP

HWKN (HollwichKushner)

Steven Incontro and David Joselit

Scott Metzner and Judy Gallent

Margery Perlmutter

Monica Ponce de Leon

RD Rice

Christine Stanton and Mitch Wasterlain

Suzan Tillotson/Tillotson Design Associates


212box, Eric Clough and Eun Sun Chun

Diane Ackerman

Agrest and Gandelsonas Architects

Amale Andraos and Dan Wood

Andre Tchelistcheff Architects

Christopher and Elizabeth Apgar

Laurie Beckelman

Dror Benshetrit

Barry Bergdoll

M. Franklin Boyd

Walter and Mary Chatham

Donald Clinton

Beatriz Colomina

Lise Anne Couture

Alexandra Cunningham / Design Miami

James Dart

Christina R. Davis

Hans Demarmels

Kyle DeWoody

Beth Rudin DeWoody

Angela Smith Domzal

Eli Dresler

Keller Easterling


Richard Flood

Alex Galan, Artbook/D.A.P.

Randolph & Joan Gerner

Jeanne Giordano / Robert Frasca

Richard Gluckman

Marian Goodman Gallery

Alexander Gorlin

Terence Gower

Seth and Ariane Harrison, Harrison Atelier (HAt)

Michael Haverland

Allen Hirsch

Peter Hochschild

Steve Hogden, Ryan Associates

Sachi Hoshikawa

Barbara Jakobson

Natasha Jen

Wendy Joseph

Lydia Kallipoliti and Andreas Theodoridis

Andrew Laing

Robert Lauder

Susan Grant Lewin Asssociates

Paul Lewis

Enrique Limon

Susan and Glenn Lowry

Sandro Marpillero and Linda Pollak

Jonathan Marvel

Charles McKinney and Susan Chin

Chris McVoy

Sara Meltzer

Susan Morris

Enrique Norten

Gary Pai

Spyros Papapetros


Quincy Hammond Landscape Architect

Reddymade Design

Charles Renfro

Juergen Riehm

Anne Rieselbach and Grant Marani

RKT&B Architects

Rob Rogers + Alissa Bucher

Joel Sanders

Ramses Serrano, Stribling & Associates, LTD


Julien de Smedt

Galia Solomonoff

Marcy Stanley, Weidlinger Associates, Inc.

Margaret Sullivan

Frederieke S. Taylor

Bernard Tschumi and Kate Linker

Billie Tsien and Tod Williams

Marc Tsurumaki

UOVO Fine Art Storage

Melinda Wang

Claire Weisz

WB Wood

Mark Wigley

Barbara Wilks

Mabel Wilson

Karen Wong

Alejandro Zaera-Polo