02_15 Hudson YardsNYNY lowLetters to the Developer, 2017. Photo by Naho Kubota.


In 2016, Storefront launched Letters to the Developer in New York City. As part of this project, a select group of architects, curators, historians, and critics were each asked to write a letter to a New York City-based developer who should be recognized for making a positive contribution to public life. Each letter articulates one exceptional act that the developer has carried out; an act that goes beyond common practice and that participants believe should become part of the norm. 


The letters, as a collection, recognize the great achievements of developers in New York City by presenting a factual representation of the highest possible standards for development. The project aims to raise awareness and recognition of acts that can help inspire better development practices in New York City, and subsequently around the globe. 


This new publication presents a selection of letters along with an extended photographic and data survey that includes new construction sites from the summer of 2017.



Spencer Bailey, Fred A. Bernstein, Phillip G. Bernstein, Eran Chen, Henry Cobb, Todd DeGarmo, Jared Della Valle, Patrice Derrington, Craig Dykers, Iben Falconer, Belmont Freeman, Mark Gardner, Peter Guthrie, Brandon Haw, Laurie Hawkinson, Steven Holl, Frederick Iseman, Daniel Kaplan, Roy Kim, Daniel Libeskind, Thom Mayne, William Menking, Enrique Norten, Nat Oppenheimer and Karen Frome, Avani Parikh, Joshua Prince-Ramus, Mark Robbins, Robert Rogers, Tomas Rossant, Bradley Samuels, Eduard Sancho-Pou, Joel Sanders, Annabelle Selldorf, Michael Sorkin, MN Design Professional Corporation, Oana Stanescu and Dong Ping Wong, Margaret Sullivan, Carl Swanson, Thomas Yu, Nader Tehrani, Ada Tolla and Guiseppe Lignano, Calvin Tsao and Zack McKown, Christian Wassmann, Marion Weiss and Michael Manfredi, James Wines, Adam Yarinsky


Letters to the Developer


Eva Franch i Gilabert

Associate Curator

Carlos Mínguez Carrasco

Project Producer

Max Lauter


Naho Kubota

Graphic Design

Project Projects

Development and Outreach

Jinny Khanduja and Andrew Emmet


Mariam Abd El Azim, Estefania Acosta, Akiva Blander, Justine Frances Flora, Bon hae Koo, Darcy Spence, Peter Talbot, Ann Mirjam Vaikla, Connie Wang, Asia Bazdireva, Lafina Eptaminitaki, Justine Frances Flora, Juan Carlos Javier, Amela Parcic, Luca Smith Senise.





Storefront’s programming is made possible through general support from Arup; DS+R; F.J. Sciame Construction Co., Inc.; Gaggenau; Knippers Helbig; KPF; MADWORKSHOP; ODA; Rockwell Group; Tishman Speyer; the Foundation for Contemporary Arts; The Greenwich Collection Ltd.; the Lily Auchincloss Foundation; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council; The Peter T. Joseph Foundation; and by Storefront’s Board of Directors, members, and individual donors.


         nyc cultural affairs logo _small